Friday, April 25, 2008

Republicans against school choice

In March the Oklahoma Senate passed the New Hope Scholarship Act by a vote of 30 to 18, with all 24 Republicans voting in favor (roll call here). The bill would give a tax credit to taxpayers who contribute to organizations that provide private-school scholarships for low-income children currently attending failing public schools in Oklahoma City and Tulsa.

On April 23 the Oklahoma House of Representatives defeated the measure by a vote of 57 to 40 (roll call here). Here are the 17 Republicans who voted against the bill:

Rep. Don Armes (R-Faxon)

Rep. Gary Banz (R-Midwest City)

Rep. Lisa Billy (R-Purcell)

Rep. Ann Coody (R-Lawton)

Rep. Dale DeWitt (R-Braman)

Rep. John Enns (R-Waukomis)

Rep. George Faught (R-Muskogee)

Rep. Terry Ingmire (R-Stillwater)

Rep. Mike Jackson (R-Enid)

Rep. Shane Jett (R-Tecumseh)

Rep. Fred Jordan (R-Tulsa)

Rep. Charlie Joyner (R-Midwest City)

Rep. Steve Martin (R-Bartlesville)

Rep. Skye McNiel (R-Bristow)

Rep. Phil Richardson (R-Minco)

Rep. Earl Sears (R-Bartlesville)

Rep. Weldon Watson (R-Tulsa)

No comments: